Fire and Ice

Standard

Yesterday, my son was giving my husband the potential odds of falling through the ice on their upcoming ice fishing extravaganza.  He thought there was probably a 20% chance one of them might not make it.  He wanted to know what his dad would do if he broke through and couldn’t get out – to which my husband answered flatly, “Well, I guess I’ll see you in Heaven.”  Not a beat passed when my son replied, “I hope!”  With a bit of surprise, his dad questioned him.  “Are you worried about not going to Heaven?”  And as any ten-year old who has yet to commit any sins worse than a few white lies, he said, “I’m not worried about me!”

We’ve recently been studying the Ten Commandments at our house in preparation for our daughter’s First Communion this spring.  We covered the easy to understand ones through our parent/child classes at church, and then were sent home to discuss some of the more “abstract” ones at home.  The words “covet” and “adultery” came up during our conversation with our eight-year old.  She’s a bit of an old soul, so I thought I should just come out with the truth about what they mean – in kids terms.  She stared blankly out the kitchen window for a few moments after I tried to explain adultery in an eight year old kind of  way.  I asked if there was anything I could clear up for her.  She simply said, “Now I know why they sent us home to talk about this stuff – moms and dads are probably too embarrassed to talk about that stuff in front of a room full of other moms and dads.  Now… let’s get to the important stuff – Dad’s bad word problem.”

I’m guessing that this has been weighing on their minds more than the Quick-tempered Head of Household thought.  I’ve decided that it’s not entirely necessary to let your conscience guide you.  If you have children… that may be good enough.

About juliemayb

I'm a mom who is about to celebrate the 13th anniversary of my 29th birthday. I used to spend my time running around after other people's children in my Kindergarten classroom. Now, I spend my time running after my own children. After growing up as a lazy-eyed, left-handed, accident-prone kid, I've learned to laugh at myself and and the ridiculous situations that continue to define my resilience. Welcome.

Leave a Reply

